neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

kindergarten piercings for all

I just finished reading A Painted House by John Grisham. What a good book. I can't even believe how good it was. I mean not in any literary award sense, but it's got real characters that remind me exactly of my grandpa. Exactly. So much so that I just cried and cried and cried at the end. I won't go into detail just in case anyone reading this wants to read the book. And if you're one of those people then get off of the damn computer and go read this book!

Anyway, for the past few weeks I've been thinking a lot about meat. I think that meat has really lost it's appeal to me. It all started when I watched CNN footage of cows suffering from mad cow disease. That has to be the saddest shit I've ever seen. It was awful. So then I started thinking about how they suffer when we slaughter them. Ugh. So now it's to the point where I can barely eat meat without crying. Talked to the boy thing about this and he's willing to give vegetarian living a try for a while. The kids are all for it. They like vegetables more than any other food group, including sweets.

So last night I made tofu burgers. I was really expecting some sort of barely edible sludge patty but surprisingly they were delicious. The boy thing ate 3!

Calebs teacher thinks I'm the anti-christ. I can just tell. One day he apparently found a package of safety pins in my room. He took them to school with him and passed them out to his friends. I don't know what the fuck a bunch of kindergarteners were gonna do with safety pins but they were evidently very excited to have them. Anyway, when I picked him up from school his teacher said "I don't know if you're aware of it or not but Caleb brought safety pins to school and handed them out to his friends. You really shouldn't let him bring stuff like that to school it could be dangerous." I shouldn't let him? Don't know if I'm aware? Now I should mention here that I have a lip piercing. It's a nice small hoop that goes through my bottom right lip.

I've had it for 5 years now and don't really give much thought to it. But the whole time she was telling me about the incident she kept glancing at my lip ring. Yes lady, I gave my son the safety pins and instructed him on how to pierce his lip with them. I then advised him to distribute them around the class so that everyone could pierce their little kindergarten puckers. Give me a break.

Notice my ability to add pictures now thanks to the easter quickcam of despair.

2:29 p.m. - 4.19.01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet