neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

time management diva supreme

Yesterday morning my friend shannon said to me, "you're so lucky to get to stay at home and do nothin all day." I couldn't even respond, I just sat there with my mouth gaped open. A little later in the day I had to make an appointment with the vet for the dog. The receptionist's child goes to the same school as my child. During the appointment making process she said to me "I wish that I could get away with not working while the kids were at school, it'd be nice to relax." OK, well I'll see you 9 tomorrow morning, nice talking to you. Then my mother called me last night to ask me, since I don't do anything during the day, to go to the unemployment office for her to see if she has to take the cut in time that her present employers are forcing upon her.

Since I don't do anything during the day.

I volunteer about 25 hours a week, in person as a receptionist. My volunteer coordinator is retiring his position so I will soon be coordinating about 48 other volunteers. I volunteer online about 10 hours a week answering e-mails. I go to school full time. More than full time. I take 6 classes. I work very hard in those classes to maintain my 4.0 GPA. My children are in cub and boy scouts, repectively. I take the kids to school, I pick the kids up from school, at two different times since kindergarten has different hours than first grade. I do laundry for 4 people. I do dishes for 4 people. I clean up after 4 people and 4 animals. I help with homework, I do my homework, I help with projects, I do my projects, I am the classroom mommy for my youngest son's class. I cook for 4 people twice a day.

An aside story. I used to not cook breakfast. This was strictly a cereal and pop tart family. One day when I picked up my oldest son from school he was saying how one of his friend's mom helped out in the class that day. He was telling me how cool she was and how the sun didn't shine until she woke up in the morning. He followed up his praise by saying "she's one of those cool mommies who cook breakfast in the morning." So now I cook breakfast. Who the hell taught my 7 year old about guilt this early in the game?

Anyway, point is, I'm a very busy person. On top of all that my 7 year old wants to start soft ball and my 5 year old NEEDS karate lessons. So there are 2 more things to make my day a bit more relaxing. Argh!! I'm so incredibly sick of people thinking that my life is so care free. It isn't really. It's how I handle it that makes it seem so easy. Really.

So next time you think that someone has it easy because they don't have to work or whatever. Stop for a moment and entertain the thought that maybe, just maybe, you are wrong.

9:58 a.m. - 4.17.01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet