neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The school system sucks

Clifford started summer school today. I cried. Not because I miss him, even though I do. But because this school is complete shit.

His old school was nice, and clean, and the people there were nice, and they were organized and I'm big on organization. BIG. He only has to go to this new school for the summer but it's awful. Awful enough to make me cry.

He wants to go to the first grade so bad he can taste it. So I don't want to take that away from him, but I wanted to bring him home when I saw that there are 53 kids in his class. With one teacher. Because they didn't plan well enough. So they have 53 kids. Not just regular kids, KINDERGARTNERS. 53 five and six year olds with one adult. Until Wednesday. When they will get 1 more teacher. and 1 more classroom. So there will be 26 and one half children per class.

This blows my mind. These kids all failed kindergarten because they didn't grasp something, and maybe that means that they need extra help. So I though summer school was for that purpose. But how can they teach 26.5 children in less than a month what they didn't grasp in 10 months with 18 kids per class.

And the school is dirty, falling apart, they have no supplies, the teacher is rude as fuck, and scatterbrained. She asked me if Clifford was going to be a bus rider or a car rider, and I explained that I was picking him up today but in the future he will ride the bus. She looked at me and said ok, you can leave now. Um, she hadn't even told anyone her name. Fuck that, they hadn't answered any of my questions. So I start asking, what time do kindergartners get out? How much is lunch because I see the sign that says special summer school pricing but there is no amount? where do I pick him up at today? are you his teacher? what is your name?

This bitch rolled her eyes and sucked her teeth at me. The teacher. Sucked her teeth. At me.

They answered all my questions and I walked up to Clifford because I was still debating whether or not to bring him home with me, and he's happy as a clam. He loves being with all these children, he's excited. And he looks at me and says "I'm ready to hurry up and learn! I'll see you this afternoon mommy!"

I couldn't take him when he was that excited. I called the school office when I got home and complained to them, they were snotty too so I called the school board and complained. I'm just disgusted with the whole thing.

10:29 a.m. - 6.18.01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet