neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sentinel chickens

For those of you who didn't believe me before I'm going to offer up proof of my total ignorance right here, right now.

You know that West Nile virus thing? Well apparently chickens that were infected with the virus were found about 10 blocks from my house.

Sentinel Chickens.

Now when I first heard about this I was wondering how they knew the chickens were infected. I mean obviously blood tests were done but what I was curious about was how some podunk farmer figured out his chickens must have that there nile virus and they needed blood tests.

Because I wouldn't have known. How do you tell that your chicken has a headache?

Anyway, I thought sentinel chickens were a certain breed of chicken. You know like black angus is to beef, sentinel is to chicken.

Yes, this is what I thought.

Anyway, who the fuck knew that our city has randomly placed chickens in cages near lakes and stuff for the sole purpose of checking them for diseases. They're sacrificial sentinel chickens.

Who knew? Now whenever I'm riding around I keep looking for our little caged friends. I should probably feel bad for them but I don't. My friend keeps wanting to go free the fowl. I just want to point and gawk.

It's a sad day in neuroticworld when I write an entire entry about chickens. Maybe tomorrow I'll tell you how I used to live on a pig farm.

8:20 a.m. - 7.27.01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet