neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my return to normalcy

I keep getting these e-mails saying "It is time for you to get out of debt!" It's making me feel creepy. I keep picturing my dad sitting at home making different e-mail addresses and sending me guilt inducing spam.

Anyway, you know how teenagers (and younger children) think that their parents are stupid? I just realized that I have been planting the stupid parent seeds for quite some time. My kids like to do this thing where they hide under the blanket and they like for me to act like I don't know where they are. So today I walked into my room and saw the big lump that was clifford laughing and jiggling under my sheets. So I did the good old "hmmm, I wonder where clifford went? I thought he was in here but I don't see him so I guess he's not" At this point clifford jumped out and said "ha ha, I fooled you, it's easy to fool you!" I'd think I was a moron too.

One of my friends told me she was starting a "book club". She needed a few more people and I naively agreed. She isn't starting a book club at all. She is starting "The Artists Way" by Julia Cameron. I've already agreed to join (back when I thoguht it was the run-of-the-mill book club) so she bought me the book and some workbook and some other stuff, including a really nice new leather journal. I know she bought all of that stuff so that I'd feel too guilty to tell her that I have no interest in discovering or recovering, or whatever the hell it is, my creativity. It worked, there's no way in hell that I can back out now, she's invested too much.

I started flipping through the first part of the book earlier today and sweet jesus am I in for an exciting twelve weeks. Sarcasm doesn't translate well through a text medium but trust me when I say that was meant very sarcastically.

They couldn't have possibly typed up that book with a straight face. Get up early to write morning pages. Pshaw. Artist dates? No one but you and your inner child/artist can go? I'm pretty certain that my 2 outer children wouldn't appreciate fending for themselves for a few hours a week so that mommy could go play with the inner child. I can't believe I got roped into doing this.

Have any of you done the artists way? Please tell me it isn't as bad as I think it is. Please tell me that I'll start doing it and find that I can't stand not to wake up early to write my morning pages. I don't mind if you lie to me. I'm not above having a bit of false hope thrown my way.

2:46 p.m. - 5.30.01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet