neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

another fucking ferret

All day long I've been singing that fugazi (?) song, the waiting room. You know the one that goes "I am a patient boy, I wait, I wait, I wait, I wait." Wanna know why I've been singing that song?

You aren't going to believe this. Yesterday I was sitting here watching some trashy television show and minding my own business. I was sitting because I needed a break after tending to the zoo for the past hour and half straight. So there I was sitting. watching. not hurting anyone when someone knocked on my door. Billy got to the door before me. I got there just in time to see good ole neighbor bruce standing there with what looks like my ferret. So I inwardly panic and freak out while smiling on the outside. Poor poor Chloe looks sick and has some scratches on her back. I'm about to cry but I don't and somehow my ability to listen kicked back in just long enough for me to hear this....

...."this is the ferret from the same litter as Chloe that was given to a friend of mine. I just got back from over there and I took the ferret away because she's being mistreated and she's obviously malnourished. I don't know what to do with her, my ferrets tried to attack her, do you think you can take her?"

So I'm kind of relieved that it isn't Chloe because I did spend 7 hours ferret proofing my house and it would suck if she had managed to get out and get hurt. But I feel awful for this poor little ferret. And I'm a fairly patient person, I mean I do have 1 husband, 2 kids, a cat, a dog, a rat, a ferret, a hamster, 2 aquariums, and a fishbowl for the betta. That's pretty much the definition of patience in my opinion. But where is this ferret gifting going to end? Am I to be the rescue house for forlorn ferrets everywhere?

The answer, my friends, is yes. Because there is apparently a big tattoo on my forehead that reads "SUCKER." And once I held the little thing (we named her Jacinda) and she cuddled up in the crook of my neck and licked my cheek I was hooked.

When I die I would like my tombstone to be modeled after I petsmart store. How did I become such a sucker for animals? One little lick on the cheek and I lose my ability to be a bitch? I'm such a softie.

Chloe is billy's ferret, Jacinda is oh so obviously mine. When I was doing my hair she curled up on my feet and fell asleep, when I try to watch TV she crawls up in my lap and tries to fit in my pockets, everywhere I go there she is. And when it's time to put her in the cage she gives me the big puppy dog eyes and it makes me feel bad. She's simply adorable. She's a lot more loving than Chloe is. Chloe's cool and she has her lovable moments but she's very very active and doesn't have a lot of time for cuddling.

Anyway, I took Jacinda to the vet today (do you have any idea how hard it is to find a vet for ferrets?) and the doctor put her on a "diet" that will get her all better in no time. Apparently the people that had her before never bothered to go out and buy ferret food, they just fed her whatever they could find. So her main diet for the past month or more has been twinkies and hot dogs. Which would kill a human much less a ferret. They also kept her in the cage all the time, and not the big ferret condo like we have but a little bitty cat carrier. That's how she got the scratch, trying to get out of the carrier. It's just sad. Why would someone accept a pet if they weren't willing to do take the necesary steps to insure the pets safety. I just don't understand people.

Anyway, the vet was so nice. The vet I chose has got to be the sweetest person I've ever met. When I called to see if she could squeeze us in the receptionist told us that she wasn't taking new patients. So I asked her if she knew of any other vets that doctored ferrets. I explained my situation to her and she asked me to hold. About 10 minutes later the doctor got on the phone and said to come in immediately and she would see us. She was super nice and was obviously more than prepared to service ferrets. The scale was a ferret ball and every time the Jacinda did anything cute she was rewarded with a little lick of ferretone (a vitamin supplement that ferrets go ga-ga over). I was just really impressed.

On a somewhat related note, my DSL modem uses my USB port to connect to the computer. And so does my webcam thingy. Do you think it'd be alright to unplug the DSL long enough to take some pictures of Chloe and Jacinda, and then just plug the modem back in? Or would I have to reinstall stuff? Or is there a simpler solution, like is there a port in the back of the tower that USB stuff can be plugged into? I'd be a much happier person if I wasn't such a moron, I tell you.

2 hours later ....... I did some research on howstuffworks.com and USB things are hot swappable, whatever that means, so I plugged in the webcam and tried to take pictures of the ferrets. Chloe wouldn't sit still long enough to get even a somewhat focused picture. Jacinda sat still but when I was trying to get the picture she was turning the focus knob. So here's a picture of Jacinda that'll have to tide you over until I get the real pictures taken.

jacinda

1:36 p.m. - 7.10.01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet