neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no shortage of port-o-potties

My normally needy cat is in heat therefore incresing her neediness tenfold.

She keeps doing that thing that cats do to entertain themselves. The one where I'm walking and everytime I want to step somewhere she hurriedly occupies that space which makes me do that high step thing to step over her. Except that by the time my foot's all up in the air she has moved to the new place where my foot will be landing, therefore making me do gymnastics to navigate my way to the refrigerator.

I'm sure she's highly entertained but it's an old bit and I'm tiring of it quickly.

Today I went in search of medical books or animal behavior books from local thrift stores. I don't know why I felt the need to own books of this nature. But wouldn't you know that most of the thrift stores are closed on Sundays. The day was not a total bust though, I eventually found an open thrift store and procured an extremely dog-eared copy of "Drugs and Society" by Weldon Witters and Peter Venturelli, and "Learning medical terminology step by step" by Young and Barger. The drugs and society one has a massive section on caffeine, including 5 pages about chocolate alone. I don't know why this amuses me so greatly.

I also discovered that we (as a city, nothing personal) definitely have a propensity for port-o-potties. They are everywhere. There's one at the outdoor track where I walk, there's one beside the local wal-mart, which kind of gives it a festival feeling. You know those really bad festivals that are lined with older women selling crocheted-doll-dress-toilet-paper-coverers off of card tables. There always seem to be port-o-potties next to those. Anyway, the weirdest place I spotted a port-o-potty today was the middle of a bridge. Just on the side of the bridge (and it's kind of a long bridge but please). Maybe it's comforting on some level but it just disturbs me.

Also while trying to locate a moving sale in a particularly snooty part of town I spotted a sign in someones perfectly manicured lawn that read "LOST HAT!! REWARD!! PLEASE CALL 555-1234" I don't remember the phone number or I'd certainly call. How successful can this sign actually be? I mean I've found hats before and I've lost hats before but never have I found a hat and seriously scoured the city looking for its owner. Maybe that's just me.

11:07 p.m. - 06.09.02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet