neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pools and libraries and a pressing knitting problem

I finally got moved and semi-settled in. Yay!! Pensacola isn't as bad as I'd feared but that's due in large part to my new built in swimming pool. Yay!! (anyone ever watch crank yankers? I've seen it a few times and the mentally challenged puppet who's always saying yay after stuff and wears the helmet keeps creeping into my head and I feel like maybe I should get one of those helmets for my own self)

We had a pool at the old house but it was one of the above ground ones and they are decidedly unfun compared to the underground variety. So that's been cool, at least until I stayed in the pool too long playing with the kids and got sunburned. Good times.

I have a knitting question for any of you that knit. You know how you knit 2 purl 2 to make ribbing and stuff? I can't do it. I can do stockinette stitch and I can do garter stitch in entirely purled stitches and I can do the knit stitch just dandy. Ask me to put them together on one row and my shit is all jacked up. You know how the stitches usually go straight up and down (at a little slant) on the needle well when I knit and purl together on a row my stitches are all going in different directions they're trying to cross over each other, one stitch tries to look like two, what the heck am I doing wrong?

Any ideas?

There's a yarn store here that I tried to go to but the owner isn't ever there when I go and usually has the sewing machine fixer watching over the store for her. Argh!

Not to mention I'm embarrassed to go there with my purse project because I'm using the cheapest yarn imaginable. Cheap! Because I lack confidence in my purse making abilities so decided to do a mock up with cheap shit that I wouldn't mind tossing if I screwed it up. But still, who wants to go to the yarn store with all their beautiful soft lush yarns holding purse pieces knitted up with the red heart acrylic special? Not me I tell ya.

Gee I'm babbly today.

Yesterday I went to the smallest library you can imagine. I'm alibrary snob so it was a bit shocking. But this was the public library and it was smaller than the kids school library. But I got my library card and found books I wanted to read and promised myself that this weekend I would round up the kids and go to the main library which is hopefully a lot bigger. Wish me luck.

6:57 a.m. - 04.30.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet