neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

P. Diddy and remedial classes

Maybe my internet access won't be as sporadic as I thought.

I watched the MTV Video Music Awards last night and it pretty much sucked. I'm just not that into popular music today. And I don't understand what these people are wearing. Pink monster fur pants scare me. But I did learn something.

I can not hear the name P. Diddy without singing that Jimmy cracked corn and I don't care song.

Which drove me crazy when I was trying to go to sleep. Because I also learned that I can not keep my knee still while I sing that little diddy. My knee just starts bouncing up and down country jug band style. It's frightening.

Today I have a meeting with Ians teacher, the school principal, the school guidance counselor and a school board psychologist. Doesn't that sound scary?

Wanna know what the meeting is about? Ians hearing. Yes. All of those people to discuss my childs ears.

They did a hearing test and it came back that he has lower hearing than normal. And they are concerned. But. But they gave him the test when he had a cold. In fact, the first thing he said to them was "my ears are all clogged up." So when his cold went away I had his hearing tested at his doctor office and it's fine. Completely normal. But do you think the school wants to hear all of that. No. This is their big chance to appear concerned and offer him an hour a day in a special class.

Which I will not accept. Even if he needed the "special" class I wouldn't let him go. Because those special classes are really just remedial classes. And my husband went through that shit with the duval county school system. And it doesn't help. It actually hurts. Those classes don't teach shit. They treat you like you're all a bunch of morons. And they hold you back academically. Because it's hard to feel good about yourself when you have to leave your regular class to attend the class with all the slow people. It's hard. I can't even imagine.

And this is one of the reasons that I am a stay at home mother. I have all the time in the world to spend with him. Helping him with things he doesn't get. And I can guarantee that he isn't in need of remedial classes. His grades show that he does excellent in school. And he's so eager to learn. He actually LIKES going to school. Looks forward to it.

The only thing that Ian has trouble with is math. And the reason he has trouble is because he wants to know WHY you have to do the things you do to get certain answers. And there really is no WHY. That's just the way you do it.

Enough about all of that.

11:52 a.m. - 09.07.01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet