neuroticgirl's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

blood work

What a day.

Billy is carpooling with some of his coworkers because they are working out of town and all of them ride together. But they don't come pick him up. I have to drive him to their house. At 5 o'clock in the fucking morning.

So that's fun. Waking up at 4:30 to get him there on time. And today I had to do the gestational diabetes test. Which is where you drink this sugary orange syrup and then let them suck out all of your blood exactly one hour later.

But it wasn't exactly that easy.

It all started OK. I woke up and took Billy to work. Came home and swept the floor and did the dishes. Cleaned the bathroom and then woke up the boys for school. Made them breakfast and yelled at them while they got dressed even slower than usual. Tried to grab my labwork paper and it had disappeared. So I looked everywhere for it. And finally found it in our outside trash cans because Billy cleaned out the car and threw it away. So I'm tired, it's raining and I'm wet, and I'm digging through garbage. Fun fun.

Get the kids to school and go straight to the lab. The wrong lab. For some reason my doctor has changed his preferred lab. So I went back into the parking garage, paid 2 dollars for the 13 minutes that I was parked there and started to go to the new lab. But then I realized that I didn't know where the hell it was. So I stopped at a payphone, grabbed 35 cents from the bottom of my purse and ran through the rain to call these people and find out where they are. But payphones have gone up to 50 cents. Who knew? So I ran back through the pouring rain got more money from my purse and ran back to the phone. Called them, they are located all the way across town, but the woman who is telling me this is barely speaking english and I can't really understand what the fuck she is trying to say.

So I went home. To call from my phone where maybe I could understand her a little better.

Which I couldn't so I acted like I understood and hung up. I called my doctor who tells me that it is RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET from the fucking payphone that I used the first time I called. So I'm about to go back out and do that when I notice my answering machine light is blinking.

It's billy. He might need a ride. The persons house that he is going to doesn't have a phone. So he'll try to call from a convenience store and let me know where to pick him up. Fuck. I can't leave if he's going to need a ride home. And why the hell is he off so early anyway?

So I wait. And I wait. And I wait. An hour and a half later he walks in the door. Not needing a ride.

So I finally went and drank that syrupy shit and kept it down and gave them 4 vials of blood and came home.

This was all terribly stressful while it was happening. I think perhaps I was over reacting. Or maybe it's just more stressful when you're driving with your belly pressed into the steering wheel. I keep meaning to learn to drive while keeping a safe distance from the airbag, that way if it deploys I won't be decapitated. But I keep forgetting. And now I think I'll learn for no other reason than I'm too fucking large to drive normally.

My mother is really starting to get to me. Remember when I said that she'd be gone by January. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. What kind of crack was I smoking?

6:15 p.m. - 01.14.02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

andrew
anenigma
lisamcc
kitchenlogic
milkmaid
pischina
rubyfoxx
tattoobelly
quoted
cariboutwo
smartypants
jamiestar
cuppajoe
peasantwench
itsmylife
jenne1017
science-girl
dietingjenn
chubbychic
hollysdiet
robin-smith
bisa-pet